Your helpful tips.

This Forum is for Support questions only for Ideal Flight. Please post other questions and suggestions in the General Use & Ideas Forum

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: Your helpful tips.

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Feb 01, 2022 11:45 am

PMDG PanelState

The PMDG 737 makes panel state files when the flight is saved, their names start with the same name as the flight file that started the flight.

Ideal Flight starts the flight with the file "Ideal_Flight.fxml" ("Ideal_Flight.FLT" in FSX) and the PMDG saves the files Ideal_Flight.fxml.fmc and Ideal_Flight.fxml.sav in its PanelState folder when the flight is saved.

It might be useful to remove those files before the next flight is started to prevent the PMDG setting up from Cold and Dark.

Make a new text file. Insert the following:

Code: Select all
rem Delete PMDG PanelState
C:
cd \
cd "C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\PMDG\PMDG 737 NGX\PanelState"

del "Ideal_Flight.*"


...and save the file as DeletePanelState.BAT

This can be edited later by selecting the file and choosing "Edit" from the menu.

The folder in use may be different so that would need setting in as the PanelState folder name in use.

The file can be stored anywhere. The first lines choose the drive and the root, of the panel state folder then changes to the actual panel state folder.

The last line, del "Ideal_Flight.*" means that any files starting with "Ideal_Flight." will be deleted.

Additionally, the .BAT file can be started by Ideal Flight "Start Other Programs" function. However, automatically deleting the panel_state files might not be desired when loading a saved flight.

On the start page of Ideal Flight find the menu item "Start Other Programs".

In that, choose "Profile Selection": "System Wide" (all profiles).

Choose "Starting period": "Before Starting FS"

Next choose: "Add Program", point to the "DeletePanelState.BAT" batch file

Other options there are not important. Choose OK.

After that, when the simulator is started with Ideal Flight it will delete the panel state files.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2 NVMe,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2 NVMe, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Your helpful tips.

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Feb 02, 2022 3:21 pm

Regarding PMDG on Prepar3D

Due to the way the PMDG works to include extra detailed systems, they require loading after the simulator has been started.

With Ideal Flight, we often have the sim start-up from the Ideal Flight Fly! button (or Flight Restore button) and this takes us straight into the cockpit. Attempting to load a flight straight to the cockpit before the simulator is running will not work reliably with the PMDGs, instead, we need to have the simulator already running when we load the flight with the PMDG. Ideal Flight can do this automatically with the startup behaviour:

In Ideal Flight Startup screen, popup menu, choose "Simulator Startup Behaviour" and check "Load Default Flight". This way the simulator has already started before Ideal Flight loads the flight with the PMDG and the flight commences from the cockpit.

(This is mentioned elsewhere on the site.)
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2 NVMe,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2 NVMe, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Your helpful tips.

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Apr 13, 2022 2:46 pm

Fails to complete the flight build process

Ideal Flight reads in information to do with the aircraft and in some add-on aircraft there might be something missing and this can prevent the flight building process. Ordinarily, Ideal Flight adds in missing values so a flight can be built. If we go into the Aircraft Flight Parameters page we might see a Range of 1 mile or a cruise airspeed of 1 knot. This is indicating that there is no information regarding those items and we must put pertinent values in those for the flight build process to complete.

After a successful flight the approximate Range is calculated and included in the assessment de-brief and we can enter that into the Aircraft Flight Parameters page for more accurate time and fuel calculations.

I recently found a situation thanks to Ron and his Falcon 20e where this can still present a problem to the build which is fixed in the next build coming shortly. This may affect other add-on aircraft.

In the meantime, if any problems in the flight build are experienced we should go to the Aircraft Flight Parameters page for that aircraft and check for pertinent values loaded in the boxes, then have another go at building the flight.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2 NVMe,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2 NVMe, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Your helpful tips.

Postby Blind Pilot » Wed Apr 13, 2022 10:08 pm

HEy Steve.
I'm just glad that I was able to help you out in any small way.
Here's to a day that we too will have a level flying platform as the sighted can take advantage with their normal vision.
It's a huge shame that the Microsoft fs 2020 team isn't listening to we giving the team input on how to make their current flight sim as accessible as the older FSX program was.
Ron AKA The Blind Pilot
Steve Waite wrote:Fails to complete the flight build process

Ideal Flight reads in information to do with the aircraft and in some add-on aircraft there might be something missing and this can prevent the flight building process. Ordinarily, Ideal Flight adds in missing values so a flight can be built. If we go into the Aircraft Flight Parameters page we might see a Range of 1 mile or a cruise airspeed of 1 knot. This is indicating that there is no information regarding those items and we must put pertinent values in those for the flight build process to complete.

After a successful flight the approximate Range is calculated and included in the assessment de-brief and we can enter that into the Aircraft Flight Parameters page for more accurate time and fuel calculations.

I recently found a situation thanks to Ron and his Falcon 20e where this can still present a problem to the build which is fixed in the next build coming shortly. This may affect other add-on aircraft.

In the meantime, if any problems in the flight build are experienced we should go to the Aircraft Flight Parameters page for that aircraft and check for pertinent values loaded in the boxes, then have another go at building the flight.
Blind Pilot
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: Your helpful tips.

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Apr 13, 2022 10:28 pm

Thanks again Ron!


Flight Parameters page
So just a reminder that when we add an aircraft to the system we should be going to the Flight Parameters page for that aircraft to check and enter pertinent values which affect the way the flight is built, the briefing will show the outcome.

We usually fly similar distances and altitudes in a particular aircraft, so in general, these values stay the same for each flight but sometimes we might want or need to alter one or two items depending on the type of flight we are going to do next. This way once set up, we need not have to enter much information, if at all, about the capabilities of the aircraft to instruct the flight builder to create the flight and plan.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2 NVMe,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2 NVMe, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Your helpful tips.

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Apr 19, 2022 12:47 pm

ATIS reading out when the flight starts

The Ideal Flight flight starts with the radio already primed and ATIS reading out if it's available.

If we don't want to hear ATIS when we start the flight we can change that before building the flight in Ideal Flight: Go to the Cold and Dark page on the Flight generator page, uncheck "Default Warm Cockpit" to enable the Cold and Dark page, and then in Cold and Dark page, choose "More Settings" and in there uncheck "Swap Comm1 and Comm 2" and rebuild the flight.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2 NVMe,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2 NVMe, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Previous

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron