Ideal Flight and FlyInside?

This Forum is for Ideal Flight Users to ask questions about general use. Perhaps you have a suggestion which you think maybe of benefit to Ideal Flight

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Ideal Flight and FlyInside?

Postby jimh20 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:22 pm

Hi,
Several years ago I used Ideal Flight for almost all my flights in FSX. Then, as far as I remember, I planned a flight and IF started FSX automatically.

I'm now using P3D 4.3, which for my VR headset is started by FlyInside (I use Flyinside principally to be able to use a 2D GTN 750 in VR.)

Can I use the up to date Ideal Flight for my flight planning, while still retaining FlyInside's startup procedure for P3D?
If so, I'll get re-acquainted with Idea Flight.

Regards, Jim H.
jimh20
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:38 pm

Re: Ideal Flight and FlyInside?

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:18 pm

Hi JIm,

Although IF presents a very handy flight starting procedure, it's not a requirement of IF that IF starts the simulator. Once the sim has been started up by another app or indeed simply the P3D or FSX icon, we can start the flight in IF after that with the Fly! button and the sim is already running, the flight loads normally as if loaded at the P3D menu Load Saved Flight.

Having mentioned the P3D menu, another way is to allow P3D to be started by another app or the desktop icon and then in IF use the P3D (or FSX) icon rather than the Fly! button, then at the P3D menu load the IF flight.

It's generally a matter of preferrence. Also I would imagine that the sim can be started with IF and the Flyinside run up after in the same way.


I've not got FlyInsode but it should be just a technical excercise of some description to get the two working together, IF can't clash programatically with it so there should be a solution.


Even if you couldn't run IF alonside another app (which is unlikely since IF interferes with nothing) the planning and export stages are worth the money alone wihout the flight recording, MTBF failures, and so on, in my opinion.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight and FlyInside?

Postby jimh20 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:00 pm

Hi Steve,

Thank you for the prompt reply. FlyInside starts P3D with its own .exe file, which "incorporates" the necessary parameters it needs for VR. From what you say though, none of that should preclude me from planning and carrying out a flight in P3D4, already started by FlyInside.

I've been reminded, after all these years, of past enjoyment of Ideal Flight by reading of your recent efforts to tailor IF flight plans to work smoothly with the Flight1 GTN Complete. I do most of my flying (some for a VA) with smaller twins equpped with a GTN750.

If I can learn to plan in IF, and find my GTN750 happy to accept the plan then I'll be really happy.

Regards, Jim
jimh20
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:38 pm

Re: Ideal Flight and FlyInside?

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:28 am

Thanks for the kind words Jim.

If it all proves too complicated get a full refund from Flight 1. At some point in the near future I'll be checking out those VR functions and if required will update IF to suit if need be.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight and FlyInside?

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:01 am

A Utube vid with IF10 and FlyInside…

https://youtu.be/XiBrzYTllqI
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am


Return to General Use & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron