bat file

This Forum is for Ideal Flight Users to ask questions about general use. Perhaps you have a suggestion which you think maybe of benefit to Ideal Flight

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

bat file

Postby Newtie » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:26 pm

Hi Steve-

Quick question; I'm using code that you provided regarding getting ASN (or any weather program) to start with a particular affinity with a bat file. I used this code relevant to my machine/path...

start /B "" /affinity A0 "C:\Program Files (x86)\HiFi\AS_P3Dv4\AS_P3Dv4.exe"

and the app certainly starts, but when I check the affinity thru TaskManager, all 8 cores are running not 7,5. Using AM=85. Any ideas on why this might be happening?

Thanks,
Mark
Newtie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:31 am

Re: bat file

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:16 pm

Hi Mark, maybe a good idea to try one of the other examples I've included on the page, let me know.
Regards Steve.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: bat file

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:34 pm

...what I generally do first is use the script to start Notepad.exe, see if it's working then slide in place the FS app...
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: bat file

Postby Newtie » Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:21 am

Hi Steve-
Used the Win8 Forum link in the AVSIM post regarding all this. Works perfect. Task manager shows the correct mask. Will not take a decimal value but will take a the hex value. See my post over at AVSIM.

Cheers,
Mark
Newtie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:31 am

Re: bat file

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:48 am

Yes Mark I saw you got it going. All the best, Steve. :D
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: bat file

Postby Steve Waite » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:56 pm

Don't forget we can start apps with affinity with IF:
- when IF starts
- when the sim is started by IF
- when the sim starts the simconnect client
- and when the sim has completed loading the scenario.

I generally have Saitek panels exe's started by IF at the startup of the simconnect client, keep away from the main sim process core (both LPs) and provide at least two LPs per exe.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4057
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am


Return to General Use & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron