Flight generation filter - runway lighting

This Forum is for Ideal Flight Users to ask questions about general use. Perhaps you have a suggestion which you think maybe of benefit to Ideal Flight

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:29 am

...I've been looking into it and you are right I too would prefer to stab a checkbox. So I'm adding features to the filter with Soft Runways (grass etc.), Water Runways and Runway Lights with those included/excluded checkboxes and a few other improvements. The work on subsets has been good and the additional prebuilt subsets can stay in... Should be ready when you get back from holiday Brent! :D
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Brent » Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:50 am

That's fantastic!

Cheers
Brent
Brent
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Brent » Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:19 pm

Hi Steve
I don't want to nag you but have you been able to make some progress with these changes?

Brent
Brent
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Steve Waite » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:17 pm

Hi Brent

I hope you had a good holiday.

Yes very good progress - I'll upload before the weekend.
Speak later...
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Brent » Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:37 am

Thanks Steve - that's great.
i7-7700k, ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming, Asus GeForce GTX 970, 32Gb, TM Warthog HOTAS, W10 64bit, DX10 FSX with Accel
Brent
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:17 am

Hi Brent,
We had internet problems since Friday so did a bit more work on it but uploading preview 16 now...I hope it's OK!
Best regards
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Brent » Sat Apr 01, 2017 1:48 pm

Hi Steve
I installed pre 16 and really like the layout on the flight gen page (very intuitive). My results for searching airports with runway lighting were mixed however.

1. If I select "only include airports with lit strips" what will that include...airports with edge lighting or some other variation? When I selected that box I noticed that 'Search' excluded some airports that had edge lighting. These were standard FSX scenery airports.

2. If I selected 'exclude airports with lit strips' I did get some that were lit....confirmed with FSX "Go to Airport".

The good news, from a flt planning perspective is that all of the airports IF found in the first case had lit runways so if I travel there after dark I'm not surprised when I get there that I can't find the runway! :mrgreen: However, it is missing some valid airports (lit) when I run a search (i.e. lit airports that show up when neither boxes selected)...hope that's clear.

Cheers
Brent
Brent
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:38 pm

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:35 am

I will check it through and see if it can be improved, but there is a problem pulling lit/unlit from the data. Some lights are simply embedded into the scenery/textures, but most airports have detail within the scenery information records about the lighting. You are only seeing those records filtered, unfortunately a limitation of the scenery data. It's probably all can be done in that respect but its more than we had. Even so I'll work on it if there's something can be improved.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:08 am

...so what I'm going to do is split out runway VASI, Approach and Edge lights through the filter. I'm going to include edge lights detail in the briefing airport information where we already have Approach and VASI details on a per Runway basis. Hopefully that should take care of it. Remembering that we get a list of airports with at least one runway that matches our criteria, but the planner prioritises runways of at least the length specified in our aircraft parameters.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Flight generation filter - runway lighting

Postby Brent » Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:47 pm

Thanks Steve
That sounds good since I'm usually looking for a lit runway in a GA plane which would typically be able to land on small runways that may not have edge lighting, particularly in remote locales.

The larger jet airliners, of course, require longer runways and IFR landing aids would typically also have runway lighting anyway.

Brent
Brent
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:38 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Use & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron