Possible new features

This Forum is for Ideal Flight Users to ask questions about general use. Perhaps you have a suggestion which you think maybe of benefit to Ideal Flight

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:33 pm

a better example would have approaches for left and right, but i'm sure you get the idea. You can select the AIRAC Common Subset in the flight gen page - that's the subset of airports that exist in the sim and in the AIRAC. On the startup page popup menu you can select the AIRAC Bias or Sim Bias. Sim Bias takes the radio frequencies from the sim, many AIRAC fed aircraft still use the sim frequencies for the navs atis etc. Another few improvements over regular AIRAC only planners.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Bees Knees » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:46 pm

Yes, see what you mean. The reason I thought maybe I would be able to change the arrival runway in IF is because Aivlasoft EFB can do that, obviously only for display purposes or course.

PFPX is also using the same dataset and is able to read the corrected runways as well.

Just thought it would be nice to have all the programs singing from the same hym sheet so to speak.

Bryan.

EDIT: Just changed IF to airac bias and now got correct runways!
Bees Knees
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:58 pm

PFPX doesn't read the scenery, whereas IF10 not only reads the scenery but also overlays that with your addon scenery as well. IF10 is reading the corrected runways but compares them to those in the sim and gives you what you want. I could turn off sim integration for AIRAC only plans and data but you'll soon get to realise it's not reliable for IF10 because it takes you anywhere, not just between your two favourite addon airports. To do both sets in the briefing there would have to be information in the briefing about stuff you don't see in the sim, and it's going to bloat it unnecessarily. Anyway perhaps you can see why it's called "Integrated". You can use the AIRAC non-integrated to get SID/STAR into the sim without the AIRAC navdata, but I won't be putting in AIRAC only planning there's plenty of free ones of those.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Bees Knees » Fri Dec 30, 2016 5:06 pm

No worries, its all good now.

Thanks for the great support!

Bryan.
Bees Knees
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 5:06 pm

...That's right the AIRAC Bias setting shows the AIRAC Biased data, but may not be what you want in the briefing when you are talking to ATC. :D

You'll still get plans that go to/from the physical sim runways.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:02 am

The process of changing to another profile and returning to the airport page now sets up the \Documents\Flight Simulator X Files folder with the flight files. Before pre_12 this was only done when the flight was generated and the files were refreshed when the flight or saved flight was started. I also refresh the files when you start IF10, and also when the Restore Backup function is used. Thanks for your input Bryan, this way seems to be more logical to the overall process. Appreciated.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:31 am

"You'll still get plans that go to/from the physical sim runways."

That's incorrect since checking this out in detail the runway location is actually from the AIRAC which I found I enabled way back, came up before. Started out as runway numbers navs and frequencies with runway lat/lon/length switched off, runway alt is still per sim scenery. So it's going to put you in a field if a runway has moved but at the right elevation for the scenery.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:39 am

...mainly with AIRAC you'll not be using the computed approach with touchdown or IDF/FAF in the plan for the GPS, you'll be setting up a STAR approach in the FMS. So have a look at the departure/approaches on the Mission page, you'll probably want to set SID/STAR only (no IDF/FAF) in those dropdown lists.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:00 am

...little bit more on that runway thing which hopefully I've got more precise now. The start points, which are additional to the runways data include endpoints of the runways and starting locations around and on the runway like TDWN these are from the scenery. Bit confusing but in effect the runways are from the scenery at all times when computing for .PLN since if you make a PLN starting on a runway for ATC and the PLN to work correctly it's got to be the runway in the scenery not the AIRAC so no long grass after all. :ugeek:
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:50 pm

pre_12 now available on the Preview discussion page, New Builds section. Re-index required.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Use & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron