Possible new features

This Forum is for Ideal Flight Users to ask questions about general use. Perhaps you have a suggestion which you think maybe of benefit to Ideal Flight

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:56 pm

C:\ProgramData\Ideal Flight 10\Flight\New

When you select another profile the plan has not been overwritten all the plans of all the profiles are there. Of course in the folder

C:\Users\[you]\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\

the plan flight and briefing files of the current profile are sent there before you start the flight - where you can only have one copy of the same name.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:23 pm

...so when you change Profiles in IF10 and start the saved flight you get all those flight associated files sent to the FSX folder:

C:\Users\[you]\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\

then you have the proper plan and briefing - but when you start the flight.

I could have them installed into that folder when a different profile has been selected and you go back to the main page - rather than when you start the flight. Any good?
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:36 pm

...the part completed flights are stored in:
C:\ProgramData\Ideal Flight 10\Flight\Saved

and the complete set of files for running the flight are stored in:
C:\ProgramData\Ideal Flight 10\Flight\New

I will set it up so that simply when you change profiles in IF10 the flight, or part completed flight, will be selected and set up ready in the ..\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files\ folder

:ugeek:
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Bees Knees » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:51 pm

That sounds brilliant, thanks Steve.

Found another problem, or maybe it's me not understanding something.

IF 10 is using the last navdata pro cycle that I purchased (1604), but when I create a flight plan (KHIO-KSFF) if seems to be using the default scenery for runway selection rather than airac data.

The runways for both KHIO AND KFSS have changed but when attempting to change the takeoff and arrival runway in IF the updated runways have not been updated.

Any ideas?

Bryan.
Bees Knees
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:54 pm

I need more information on what you are suggesting - can you paste here the information from the briefing. Remember that there are two runways to consider, that of the scenery and that of the AIRAC, the AIRAC may have a different number since the magnetic declination has changed the compass direction. IF10 will put you on the actual runway in the scenery or you could be starting in a field.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Bees Knees » Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:58 pm

Do you want the full briefing or only a section of it?

Bryan.
Bees Knees
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:05 pm

show me what the problem is - is it in the plan, information in the briefing, navs in the route?
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Bees Knees » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:13 pm

IF shows me arriving runway 21R at KSFF, but according to the airac runway 21R is now 22R.

Have tried to change the arrival runway via the IF edit plan button (flight settings) but 22R is not available.

Bryan.
Bees Knees
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:20 pm

according to your sim it is runway 21R, however in real life it is now 22R because of MagDec. You can update your sim with the runway numbers or airport scenery and then IF10 will show 22R in the briefing.

The briefing shows you what's in the sim, what you see in there, and the planner will put you on the runways in the sim. This is a classic feature of IF10, if you want to land in a field you can use a planner that only knows what's in the AIRAC. :mrgreen:
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Possible new features

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Dec 30, 2016 4:26 pm

...so here's part of the briefing shows the Approach Procedure for runway 22R

L22R: RWY 21L, AA 5700 ft, MA 5700 ft

As you can see it is L22R, but the actual runway in the sim is RWY 21L. So it's taking the AIRAC and the sim and giving you what you want. Remember at another airfield the runway may have been moved 200yards left and you'll be in the long grass with an ordinary planner.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Use & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron