Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

This Forum is for Ideal Flight Users to ask questions about general use. Perhaps you have a suggestion which you think maybe of benefit to Ideal Flight

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:08 pm

The direction callouts have been fixed - thanks again!

I have a flu bug right now so impeding progress a little to what I hoped to do this week. I've been working on other well overdue things like new airport formats in the bgl files. Some more recent airport addons might be shown with no taxiways on the maps, I've included those in the next update.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:45 pm

There won't be an update this weekend due to the flu virus.

I found a few places (with reader active) where it can cause an exception, they're not completed in the code. I think those places are now fully fleshed out and we won't get the odd exception.

Coming up next week: I have improved the maps where there are no taxi lines showing. And some other items in the maps improved.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:31 pm

...In the last post I meant to say with reader active and will alter it. The voice enabled is OK.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:58 am

Orinks wrote:Just as with Cold and Dark settings, Weather Settings, etc, how there is a more settings button, and those dialogues are presented as lists with checkboxes?


If you have been with IF from the start you would remember that when there were a few checkboxes they were on the main page. Then when they grew to a larger number they were put into a separate window with the checkbox list.

This is basically what has been the plan from the outset of the Voice page, which is in its infancy right now.

Most everything has already been thought of before, at this stage there is more than one way forward.

Currently the similar system items are grouped under checkboxes. I have been awaiting feedback on the implementation of the grouping, but those chosen seems to be OK.

The way to display lots of groups was discussed at the start whereby I said there would be a lot of checkboxes on one page.

With the current groups we have some, such as Navs or AP functions, which hold several items, (I will be making checks available for all items). And we have some checkboxes that are individual.

On the Voice form, my idea initially to put a button in place of the checkboxes where they control a large number of items and show a list with the items split individually. The remaining checks in another list window.

However, perhaps it will be better to put everything in just one list, one button. Rather than four or so lists. We would still be able to assert this setup associated with the stages in the setups list box.

One window checkbox list means more scrolling, so I wondered on how that might affect the easiness of use?
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Feb 18, 2020 5:34 pm

I think the way to go is with Orinks suggestion to put in the checkbox window now. At first I will fill it with the voice checkbox options. Increase the options and list them in grouped order. Then we can find out how it works and if necessary I can split it down into grouped windows later.

After that I'll put in the taxi functions.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Feb 19, 2020 3:33 pm

Some of the voice variables were misaligned so they might not have worked right. Also the heading was switched off with the equipment by accident.

I have fixed those and added some more items for now. Unfortunately the settings as stored will not match in the next build and will have to set each page as it is required.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:31 am

The flaps callout might not work when includes leading and trailing depending on aircraft.cfg details. Fixed.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Orinks » Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:25 am

May have found a possible bug.

Starting with a new profile, I've observed while helping a new IF user that if you check the runway start from it's default state, and then regenerate the flight, the briefing says that the aircraft situation is on the runway when in reality it does not appear to be. Simply regenerating the flight does not appear to be a workaround, you need to move to a new departure and back again.

On a semi-related note, perhaps the voice should include gate/runway information when loading a flight, or at least have an option to get the information, instead of just simply stating on ground.
Orinks
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:50 pm

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:47 am

So is that ALL Airports or just one? Without airport details I can't help.

Could the new ADE4 version addon that I spoke of earlier. That's fixed in the update today, they also don't show taxi paths. The parking spots should be OK though. Currently those won't show the apron if the apron is the new record.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Ideal Flight Accessibility phase 2

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:02 am

...another idea is that since many airports have starting points that lay beside the runway, that's also a possibility. To solve problems I need information, in the sim - anything can happen.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4280
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Use & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron