Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

This Forum is for Support questions only for Ideal Flight. Please post other questions and suggestions in the General Use & Ideas Forum

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby ke7zum » Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:40 pm

Steps:

1. Launch deal flight
2. Choose an embrar and create a flight.
3. Start flight normally. I'm using pro ATC/x but I could get my fuel report with my bigger planes
4. Go to sim menu, then first item then fuel report.

I get the OK box but no report just that the IFR plan is in progress. Can anyone else reproduce this? Sorry to be a bug bare.

I should side note here that I do see the report in the flight log.
ke7zum
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:28 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:43 pm

If the plane is not loaded or some other thing is stuck, then when you ask for the fuel report, it may OK, and then do nothing.

So it is an indication something happened, maybe the sim was still loading up traffic and the report could not work then.

This is Ideal Flight telling you something is wrong or you needed to wait longer for the simulator to finish loading the plane.

The fuel report is mainly for ascertaining the range, gals per hour and so on. So it is only going to do that when in stable flight. Take a few readings to be sure it settles down to an accurate reading. Ideal Flight measures tiny amounts.

Some planes do not report fuel use, so we must run the fuel report at least twice then Ideal Flight can measure the time between readings.

Use at any time to report on fuel available and many other items are in the log.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:51 pm

This raised an important bug issue on my list.

The popup menu should not include the in-simulator menu items until after the sim has fully started. That has been fixed in P12.

Thanks you!
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jul 29, 2019 6:50 pm

P12 available on the forum. Thanks again for your valuable input.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby ke7zum » Sun Aug 04, 2019 6:37 pm

Well, glad I could help fix a bug. I notice that only in this profile the fuel report does not appear, but it works on my other profiles I use. So I think I turned something off, or broke something and I do not want to redo this profile. I've logged about 30 flights and really don't want to redo them, or what not lol! I've ben settings searching but I just can't remember what I turned off in the window. I don't mind going to the log but if I cannot fix this in this profile or at least see what I might have broken that would be coolio. I might not be able to answer right away as I'll be stuck all week doing brain tests, however rest assured I will get to the posts when I get to them and answer when I can.

Blessings.
ke7zum
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:28 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:41 pm

How do you know it is the profile? the only way to make a profile that does not do a fuel report is one that has no engine in the plane. Since this is very unusual I would expect that IF has found an error in the aircraft.

In order to determine where the problem appears, you need to eliminate some possibilities.

Check it is not the aircraft itself. Try the Mooney right away and test the fuel report.

I often find folk have a problem with loading a plane they won't be flying, although it is only for a test. One recently thought I was recommending that he no longer use his addons ever again!

We are only doing this to get to a fuel report. If we get a report we need to focus on your aircraft.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:54 pm

When doing fuel reports, make a few readings and check for settling of the fuel flow before deciding on the accuracy.

In IF weather we are constantly in an up or down draught, rarely any still air. With other weather systems, including the internal FSX and P3D engine, the air is still unless travelling through a thermal column. These columns are turned off in the IF installation, and back on with removal. But is optional. The regular thermals are not desired in IF weather.

So with fuel reports we must be careful, a slight incline on auto throttle will increase fuel flow a lot and show a short Range. It is for the Pilot to know how flying the aircraft will determine how fuel flow will behave, rather than question the accuracy of the fuel report, which is absolute.

With some planes, for example the MJCDash they have an external program running the aircraft flight dynamics and unfortunately do not transmit their fuel flow to the sim. although it is a easy thing to include in such a plane. Therefore we must do a prior fuel report for IF to get information first and it will not calculate the range. The second report, or third and subsequent reports show the Range.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:49 pm

Let's say we don't get a fuel report in a particular plane - we first try another plane.

Let's say we don't get a fuel report in any plane we choose...

is it the Profile settings or a state of the simulation from some other item not responding?

We can make a new profile (Profiles page New) and test with no changes to that. If we still get the problem, it must be the state of the simulator because we know IF does nothing, and the Simulator and the Mooney work properly in any case.

Let's say it's only the plane, but we are sure it used to work. Did it? if so what changes have been made? FMS settings? Different paint selected? We have not forgot to try another airport have we?

Let's say it only happens at one airport. We seek information about the airport.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Preview 11: no fuel report for an embrar

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:03 pm

Think how the fuel report can work. Let's say we are at idle but the brakes are on, we are going nowhere!

An infinite amount of fuel will be required to move any distance at all.

We must be moving, generally in flight, in a stable climb, cruise, or descent for a rational result.

If the aircraft is using the P3D/FSX FDE then the simulator will send information to Ideal Flight about the fuel flow. We would take a few readings to be sure to get a settled result. Aircraft with no fuel flow figures must be done by calculation of the fuel difference over a time period. When the aircraft is settled, make a final reading a few seconds after, to establish the time period required for the Range calculation.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4030
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests