P3d weather tab

This Forum is for Support questions only for Ideal Flight. Please post other questions and suggestions in the General Use & Ideas Forum

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby reecemj » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:23 pm

Yes I have used IF weather but I like Opus because of the cameras effects and live weather.
Reece...Using IF10 Pro
reecemj
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:43 pm

Yes Opus is good for that but I've not got the latest version at the moment - will get it.

"I would like for IF to start P3d with the user defined weather box checked."

I should have picked that up right away but was busy at the time. Yes I think you can have this one. I'll get it done asap.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:51 pm

...as far as the full gamut of custom and advanced weather is concerned - if we have to set that up then it may as well be in P3D. Then go back to IF, insert the dept and dest winds, build the flight and go.

But later in IF we want to uncheck "P3D User Defined Weather" and start the sim - behold the sim is also set the same. :D

That seems quite a reasonable addition. Thanks as always reecemj for your ever valuable support and comments.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby reecemj » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:16 am

And thank you for making IF a great app. I don't fly without it.

Am waiting on the version of IF where I can walk in the room and say "Sira load IF and find a route". I return minutes later p3d is on the screen with engines running and route loaded. That would be amazing. :lol:
Reece...Using IF10 Pro
reecemj
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:32 am

Actually that's not a bad idea. :D

In the meantime if you are able to follow my instructions about CPU setup with P3D you can minimise the time it takes to load. Although with many cores used the shared cache is thinned out across more processes, there's an optimum for any given system. Too few and you don't load up so quick, too many and you can scupper ultimate performance. You can just use a stopwatch but since you got IF it tells you various things about the startup time. There's so many compromises, fortunately P3Dv4 handles many cores much better now so there's not the need to worry unless you like to play with settings for a few more %.

All the best.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:58 pm

How's this? :D

Image
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:24 am

OK this is how it works:

We have "User Defined Weather" and "Clear Skies" themes shown in the drop-down list with any installed themes found in the themes directory below those in the list in alphabet order.

We select user defined and set intended wind directions in the edit boxes on IF weather page for departure and destination.

Build a flight and go into P3D/FSX. Go into the weather page and change User Def settings, OK out and back to the sim. IF remembers the weather settings because IF is set to User Def Weather otherwise it is ignored since you probably want to keep that weather even though building other flight types. So you can go back to that weather setting later.

Setting Clear Skies or any other theme knocks it out of User Defined Weather.

Going to keep it for a few days as I'm checking through other stuff but will upload soon so you can try it out with not too much further delay.

Regards
Steve
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:27 am

...also saves restores and tracks your weather changes with adjustments and saved flights and every other circumstance where it is required...
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby reecemj » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:19 pm

Yes! I would leave it on user defined. When I go into p3d weather the user defined is checked each time IF starts p3d. The Opus and p3d winds will be the same with user defined. Thanks Steve. :D
Reece...Using IF10 Pro
reecemj
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: P3d weather tab

Postby Steve Waite » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:51 am

...I've been having fun with the P3D weather - it is better now and enhanced by IF10 because each profile keeps it's own specific P3D weather set-up including the advanced settings.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron