Briefing window error

This Forum is for Support questions only for Ideal Flight. Please post other questions and suggestions in the General Use & Ideas Forum

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Briefing window error

Postby Turambar » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:15 pm

Hi Steve,

Long time no see!
I've upgraded to P3Dv4.3 now and wanted to fly with IF tonight. TYo my surprise I got a see through screen of the briefing window; and no briefing was shown. Other options were disabled as well. Maybe you've heard of it? I add an attachment to show what's the problem.

KR, Theo Legters aka Turambar
Attachments
IF-ERROR.JPG
IF-ERROR.JPG (205.73 KiB) Viewed 2366 times
Turambar
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:55 am

I'm running 4.3.29.25520 and she rocks.

No other reports - Maybe it's something screwing around under the hood in Windows with your webobjects. So try a reboot first. P3D kneeboard is a regular browser window out of my control.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:20 pm

Hey Theo! Any luck with that?

It is possible that some items of P3D can work incorrectly after running other DX11 stuff so rebooting after fixes it but It's a rare event and usually only on developers rigs or guys running other games. Also another web browser could alter the behaviour of your P3D kneeboard window. Check your GPU drivers are updated, and check out other browsers are functioning correctly.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Turambar » Tue Jul 17, 2018 8:57 am

Hi Steve,

The attachment was from Firefox; loading same flight with MS Edge unfortunately gives the same result...
I'll try MS Explorer later today and let you know.

KR Theo
Turambar
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:29 am

Go to your flights folder try using the "open with" <preferred browser> on any of the ".htm" files there just in case the association is broken, do always open with..
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Turambar » Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:46 pm

When I open a html flightplan outside IF or P3D, everything is fine.
I've attached two pictures; nr. 1: after IF has loaded P3D there's a see-through. When I click on 'Messages' I get picture nr. 2. After that, whatever I click (Briefing-Messages-Nav Log, Keys, Checklist, References or Missions) this messages stays visible and nothing changes...
Weird especially when it all worked fine until a few days ago..

KR Theo
Attachments
IF_error01.JPG
IF_error01.JPG (139.88 KiB) Viewed 2351 times
IF_error02.JPG
IF_error02.JPG (84 KiB) Viewed 2351 times
Turambar
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:08 pm

When you view the briefing from IF button or from double-clicking the .htm and shows in the browser it's OK so your browsers work OK.

When you view the briefing in P3D the kneeboard browser window is clear - you have an internal browser code problem between Windows and P3D.


Unfortunately there's nothing I can do.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:11 pm

I would log a fault with LM as it's pretty obvious there's no browser object displayed in the kneeboard and that's an internal P3D problem - or you installed another browser and a Windows patch removed the object reference.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Turambar » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:17 pm

Ok...

I'll do a P3D repair; and see what happens.
Turambar
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Briefing window error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:35 pm

Also check out your browsers if you have other browsers than MS I would do a reset on those.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4573
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron