Save Flight Error

This Forum is for Support questions only for Ideal Flight. Please post other questions and suggestions in the General Use & Ideas Forum

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:52 am

"when I reload it states that I'm not currently flying, which I am in the sim." That's correct though because it means you are not currently flying with IF10 - it would have to reconnect to find out you are flying.

Could be something is affecting your SimConnect server at some stage during the flight so that IF10 cant monitor the sim saving the flight, or a file is held open by another process. If something's up IF will find it.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:58 am

With problems like this it's always the best thing to do is waste no time and cut back to a simple setup, get it working reliably then build it back up...
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:01 am

Yes, I pull down the alt menu and use the IF10 save button. It allowed me to save several times during the flight and then i tried again just to be safe, and it suddenly crashed. I have only tried the g1000 variants, however I am now trying the Leerjet, and shall start my profile and flight settings from scratch.
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:04 am

I don't think the profile is to blame it doesn't do anything. You didn't say what the error message was.

...by the way happy new year. thanks for coming to the forum - it's always useful to find out what problems are experienced. If it's a problem with IF10 that would be good news to find it, there's very little reported in that respect.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:06 am

Is there a method of saving the flight through the simulator rather than IF10, loading it back up through the sim and progressing with the flight using IF10 as well?
PS I didn't receive an error message, only that a Microsoft Windows popup appeared saying IF10 stopped working.
Happy new year to you as well.
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:08 am

Steve Waite wrote:With problems like this it's always the best thing to do is waste no time and cut back to a simple setup, get it working reliably then build it back up...


What do you mean by simple setup?
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:43 pm

do you only have FSX installed and no addons active?
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:47 pm

...you've got to start the saved flight from the IF10 save or there's no complete evaluation. But it's pointless trying to circumvent that type of thing works completely reliably or there would be reports - you need to look to your system.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:49 pm

If IF10 closes unexpectedly without a message look to the log when you restart it - see the popup menu.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:53 pm

During the save game IF10 makes a few files of its own, and looks into the .FLT that the sim saves - it's just a normal save. If the FLT file can't be opened (held locked by another app for example) or depending on the fault condition IF might shut itself down without a message because it is unable to and also it will shut down its simconnect client to save any problems and hold up the sim. However the log might indicate the problem encountered.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests

cron