Save Flight Error

This Forum is for Support questions only for Ideal Flight. Please post other questions and suggestions in the General Use & Ideas Forum

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:27 pm

When trying to reload a saved flight using the IF10 toolbar, it states: "Aircraft initialization failed, you will now be placed in visualisation-only mode." Do you have any idea why this is happening, and are there any possible fixes?
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:35 pm

Check things out in a fresh default profile. Add a new profile, keep it simple, select the plane in question, build a flight, start the flight, pull down the menu, save the flight, restore the flight. See how that goes.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:49 pm

I followed the above steps, and it worked fine, does that mean the profile i was previously using was the issue?
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:50 pm

Maybe some setting in the plane can't work as a restore, it's unusual...
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:51 pm

I shall keep updated if it happens again, thank you!
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:52 pm

You are loading a .FLT when you start a flight or when you start or restore a saved flight, so there's going to be a setting in the FLT that won't restore, it's not an issue with the profile.
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:30 am

So this morning, I tried a built flight from Cardiff to LFPB, and halfway through, the IF10 crashes when trying to save the flight. I then go to reload a previous saved IF10 flight and it once again said that the Aircraft initialisation failed, meaning I couldn't carry on with the flight. Very confused now to why this keeps happening.
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:37 am

"IF10 crashes" ? Do you mean IF10 closes or the sim closes. You're going to have to help me to help you.

When you save the flight the save flight is invoked from the sim and the sim makes files. Can these file be reliably made? This sounds like a system issue...

Can you tell me what is the plane/place/plan? So I can see what's going on...
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby joewatson129 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:43 am

The actual IF10 program closes, and when I reload it states that I'm not currently flying, which I am in the sim. I never had any issues when saving the flights on the sim, only when using saving through the Ideal Flight toolbar.

The plane being used is the Beechcraft Baron 58 G1000, however it also happened in the Mooney Bravo G1000, which makes me think the issue isn't within the aircraft themselves. The flight plan was between EGFF and LFPB, and I was flying over the English Channel.
joewatson129
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 pm

Re: Save Flight Error

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:49 am

Are you saying:

you pull down the ALT menu in the sim and use the IF10 save flight menu item.
During the save process Ideal Flight closes. any error message at all?

You said that the flight saved and reloaded before setting off so what is happening during the flight so that won't work, any AV running or something. Hard to figure this out with little info. You say the planes affected have a G1000 but the standard planes work OK are you meaning the stock planes?
software architect at codelegend.com
equipment: i9-9980Xe 64GB 2xRTX2080ti NVLink 2TB M.2,
i9-9900X 64GB RTX2080ti 2TB M.2, i7-3960X 32GB GTX680 4TB RAID10,
NAS @7TB RAID10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests

cron