If lookin for FSX-se config

Any problems with your Installation or other install related questions, please post here

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby reecemj » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:29 pm

Steve I install FSX-se on a computer that has not had fsx-ms on it. But I have used the Migration tool for P3d on it. I no longer use the tool, cleaned the reg according to your instructions and removed any fake fsx-ms files. Installed FSXSE it install as FSX for all files and folders as far as I can tell. All addons have no problem installing.

But IF looks for the Fsx-se config file.I updated to the new version. What can I do to get IF to work? Should it be looking for fsx config files?
Reece...Using IF10 Pro
reecemj
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:14 pm

It sounds like FSX-SE has still installed itself as hybrid, even so, IF10 has capability to configure for any situation - so we can get it going no problems.

However, even though most addons will install and work OK in a hybrid install, some may have difficulties.

It would be better to get FSX-SE to install so it, and IF10, and all addons, work out of the box. If not then you can find in the start page help (see help index) and scroll down to find the ALT install setup, whereby you can manually assert the location and name of the fsx.cfg.

I will have a think and get back with a list of things that cause FSX-SE to install in hybrid mode - back later.

Steve
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:43 pm

I think you will find the FSX registry entry (necessary for FSX-SE to work) does not hold the same address as the FSX-SE registry entry.

Run up Regedit and look in:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\[Wow6432Node\]DovetailGames\FSX

exe_path=C:\Program Files[ (x86)]\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\fsx.exe
install_path=C:\Program Files[ (x86)]\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX

(64bit OS locations shown)

and look in:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\microsoft games\flight simulator\10.0

SetupPath=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX


should all point to the FSX-SE directory, and the FSX-SE installation normally takes care of both those settings. Perhaps the FSX registry item was not properly removed prior to installing FSX-SE.

If these locations are different, IF10 will assume a hybrid install and opt for fsx_se.cfg by default.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby reecemj » Tue Jun 16, 2015 1:25 am

I install 011sf it setup fine. Will do a couple of flights tomorrow. Thanks
Reece...Using IF10 Pro
reecemj
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jun 16, 2015 1:54 am

Maybe you had not run FSX-SE alone for the first time before installing IF10. You should now try installing sh. When you choose to install FSX-SE from steam, it is not installed fully until it has run at least once. Only then can you install IF10.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:14 am

...in any case [sh] will look for fsx_se.cfg if those two registry items differ, make sure they match.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby reecemj » Tue Jun 16, 2015 1:04 pm

The regedit shows a perfect match except I use D drive. But when update/012sh is run ( FSX directory found:FSX-SE). Going to take a quick flight with 011sf.
Reece...Using IF10 Pro
reecemj
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:40 pm

Sorry reece I'm not sure what the problem is. There will be a steam fsx folder where is installed otherwise IF10 won't find a folder that does not exist. Can you explain further about your setup or what happens when you install, sh?
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:52 pm

...also in any case, for 'strange' installations you can look in the start.htm help page and use the [FSAltSetup] configuration - although that should not be required.

the only way IF10 will set up for steam is if those registry entries are different...are you sure you have the same folder name *and* exe name in the steam reg key as well as the same folder name in fsx reg key.

can you give me the folder names you've got steam installed into? and can you tell me the folder names in the reg keys so I can help you?
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: If lookin for FSX-se config

Postby Steve Waite » Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:48 pm

Hi reece,

I've set up a system similar to yours. I've set the steam fsx reg to point to the steam install folder, but I've set the fsx reg to a different location, IF10 installs but upon running asks for the location of fsx_se.cfg.

So then I set the fsx reg to the same folder, and after installing IF10 uses the fsx.cfg, no longer looks for fsx_se.cfg.

However, I found a bug, the path text in the fsx steam reg key, and the fsx box reg key must be the same, including upper and lower case text - that is a bug.

If you CTRL+C the steam folder from the fsx-se reg key, and CTRL+V that into the fsx reg key, then install IF10 sh, it should work fine. I'm working on [si preview 01} right now which cures that unfortunate problem.

All the best!
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Next

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron