Dual Install FSX and FSX:SE

Any problems with your Installation or other install related questions, please post here

Moderators: Steve Waite, SysAdmin

Dual Install FSX and FSX:SE

Postby alpha117 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:18 am

Hi Steve

Finally getting some time for flying!!

So my question is what do I need to do to point IF to the FSX: SE directory?

Is it a totally re install of IF?


Thanks

Clive
ProATC/X, EFB, OPUS, FS Captain,PFPX
alpha117
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:09 am
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Dual Install FSX and FSX:SE

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:19 pm

Hi Clive,

The IF10 setup program allows you to set up IF10 for running either -SE or FSX at a time (not both at once).

Make sure you got [sh08] from the new builds bottom of the Preview discussion ([sh05] will do it but get the new build).

In the Setup screen there is a button "." next to the FS location, press that and alternately it should find your FSX and FSX-SE folders, if not use the other button to point to the installation with the directory picker. So if it points to either FSX or -SE, choose the "Update" button (or button says "Install" if first time) and IF10 will be set up for that version of FSX.

When you switch sims in IF10 setup, the profiles stay the same. Or you can backup the data first (popup menu start page), and install IF10 fresh if you remove it with the windows control panel remove apps page beforehand.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am

Re: Dual Install FSX and FSX:SE

Postby alpha117 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:42 pm

having a slight moment here!!!

Where's the setup button. I have sh08 installed
ProATC/X, EFB, OPUS, FS Captain,PFPX
alpha117
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:09 am
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Dual Install FSX and FSX:SE

Postby alpha117 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:47 pm

Sorted, re-installed sh and it found SE


thanks
ProATC/X, EFB, OPUS, FS Captain,PFPX
alpha117
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:09 am
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: Dual Install FSX and FSX:SE

Postby Steve Waite » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:53 pm

That's it! When you next run setup you can change to MS FSX and it will just reconfigure.

If you get an update to FSX-SE, or choose to use a beta, or the beta reverts back to release version, then after making those changes in the Steam menu, before updating IF10 you must first run FSX-SE, from the Steam menu, or from its desktop icon, so that the sim can reconfigure itself. Finally run IF10 setup and Update.
software architect at codelegend.com
i7-3960x 32Gb GTX680 4Tb Intel RAID 10 Win10
Steve Waite
 
Posts: 4270
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:02 am


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron